Happier. Freer. Lighter.

The obligation to float elegantly somewhere between overdressed and underdressed, every time I step out of my house..

The obligation to laugh off a rude comment sent my way..

The obligation to be polite and not speak up when an acquaintance makes a homophobic joke..

The obligation to appear like I didn’t cry the previous night lest I risk the judgement of classmates..

The obligation to give socially acceptable responses (lies) when asked about my family..

The obligation to put on a facade so I fit in the utopia that everyone wants to pretend they’re in..

All these obligations… I’m cutting them out.

Vulnerability makes people uncomfortable but now that I’ve begun giving up pretence,

I feel happier..

Freer..

Lighter.

Leave a Reply

